Countries elect new membership to UPU bodies

07.10.2016 - Member countries cast their ballots to elect new members to the Council of Administration (CA) and Postal Operations Council (POC) for during the 26th Universal Postal Congress in Istanbul.

Member countries vote on new Council of Administration and Postal Operations Council membership during the Universal Postal Congress in Istanbul (Photo: Ugur Cobanoglu)

The countries elected will help lead the UPU’s work during the 2017 – 2020 work cycle.

Council of Administration

Some 41 countries were elected to the CA during a plenary session at the Istanbul Congress

The countries elected to the CA are: Algeria, Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, China, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Pakistan, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Zambia

As host of Congress, Turkey will automatically assume the CA chairmanship, represented by PTT Corporation CEO Kenan Bozgeyik.

The CA - composed of 41 countries - meets twice annually at UPU headquarters in Berne, Switzerland, to ensure the continuity of the UPU's work between Congresses, supervise its activities and study regulatory, administrative, legislative and legal issues.

The CA can also take measures it considers necessary to resolve urgent issues. It approves the UPU's biennial budget and accounts, as well as yearly updates on the UPU's strategy and budget.

The Council is also responsible for promoting and coordinating all aspects of technical assistance among member countries. It also approves proposals made by the POC.

Postal Operations Council

The countries elected to the Postal Operations Council are: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Cuba, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Korea, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United States of America and Uruguay.

Japan was re-elected chair of the POC, represented by Masahiko Metoki, vice-president of international affairs at Japan Post. 

The POC is the technical and operational mind of the UPU and meets annually at the UPU’s headquarters in Berne.

Its work programme is geared towards helping Posts modernize and upgrade their postal products and services. It deals with the operational, economic and commercial aspects of the postal business.

The body also makes recommendations to member countries on standards for technological, operational or other processes within its competence where uniform practices are essential.    

Congress 2016


no news in this list.